Vitamin D For Celiac Patient Allergic to Lambs Wool Lanolin
Q. I have celiac disease and allergy to lanolin and I am looking for Vitamin D3.
A. Vitamin D3 in Vitamin D3 Liquid by Pure Encapsulations is derived from the cholesterol in lanolin, the fat found in wool. The Medium chain triglycerides (Vitamin D3 liquid only) are derived from coconut and palm oil.
I spoke with the biochemist at Pure Encapsulations, and he assured me that all the lanolin proteins have been removed from the vitamin D in this product, and is should be safe for someone with an allergy to lanolin. He also explained that lanolin is where most vitamin D is sourced from for the supplement industry. He said it is difficult to source naturally from other sources.
You might give this a try and see how you do with it. Another alternative is Cod liver oil is also another natural source of vitamin D and vitamin A, though it has significantly less vitamin D than you find in supplements.